Bring On Step-tember!

Let’s get stepping!

Sarah McManus MSc
1 min readSep 2, 2022
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

This isn’t an original challenge, but it is the first time I’ve done this one, and I love puns, so September is the perfect month for it! I’m intending to do 10,000 steps every single day in September.

10,000 steps is the default Fitbit watch target and I’ve always half-heartedly aimed for it, but I usually only hit it approx. twice per week. Although I don’t have a mind for numbers or stats, I do love looking at my weekly Fitbit email filled with my stats for the previous 7 days. Sometimes it spurs me on, sometimes it validates my efforts. I’m hoping that throughout this month, it’s going to be a validation-fest!

I know a few other people who have done it and I could genuinely see the difference in their moods and their bodies. For the most part, I’m doing it to prove to myself that I can, but since I’m also getting married in 2 months, losing a bit of weight isn’t a bad thing either!

If you want to join me, let me know in the comments! Or if you’ve done this or a similar challenge before, tell me all about it!

--

--

Sarah McManus MSc

Sarah is a UK-based writer with an MSc in Psychology. She writes about mental health & Neurodiversity. She is also the Owner and Editor of The Blade & Beyond.